The Yarn Rodeo

Or My Fight With Sticks and String

Past Entries
My Thoughts on Books
What Pays for My Fiber Problem
Drop Me a Line


2005-05-21 5:19 p.m.

Snakes and scales

Ok. I should explain about the snake. We had a reptile show at HFCL today. It way too cool. I want a snake. My boys will let me have one. My husband won't. Mean husband.

Fiber content? The reptile guy and I discussed the raising of silkworms. He feeds them to the animals. I'm trying for fiber. He's successful at raising them. Mine will probably die.


2005-05-09 5:30 p.m.

Fibery Weekend

Still with the ugly entry. Still working on it. Still don't have something I like.

Busy weekend. That's why no post.

On Friday, I went to Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. Pretty good. In keeping with all Douglas Adams' revisions, the movie only had parts of some of the books and parts were changed. How does this relate to knitting? Impatient, aren't we? After engaging the Improbibility Drive, the spaceship turned into a ball of yarn and needles. When they flashed to a shot of the gang, they were all knit dolls. Too cool. Especially the rainbow yarn "vomit."

Saturday was my cousin Liz's graduation party. Lovely day to sit outside and knit. In fact, I finished my recycled yarn bag thing. (I *NEED* to get pics.) While at the party, I met a bona-fide "fiber artist." Rob goes to BGSU (Bowling Green) and works for FiberWorks in Toldeo (No web site, grrr.) Very nice guy. He was working on a crocheted shell out of egyptian cotton yarn (Bad Rebecca, forgot the brand name) for a class he's teaching. Just started, but looking good. Just started his shell, not just starting to crochet.

Mother's Day brought a lovely backyard picnic with family at my brother's. My cuz, Alisa was in from Denver and we went through my grandma's fabric collection and reallocted the stash. My mom and Aunt Margaret (Alisa's mom) gave a running commmentary. My 5yo son started his stash. I'm in trouble. Garrett (the 5yo)also picked out a partially finished jacket in pink and gray plaid to add to his dress-up collection.

Hot off the needles: The orange bag thing from recycled yarn. Trying to decide if I want to felt it or not.

OTN: Socks for Garrett in Lorna's Laces Flame colorway
A bag thing in multi-colored hand-spun, hand-dyed, navajo-plied yarn
Socks for me in spindle-spun, hand-dyed Wenselydale
Those UFOs are still in the basement.

OTWheel: Some purple, fushia, black from Centennial Farms in Charlotte, MI (again no web page, grrr) for plying with some commercial yarn.

Stash Enhancement:Vintage sewing fabrics


2005-05-05 12:48 p.m.

A whole new blog...

Knit, knit, knit...

My husband thinks I'm obsessive. He's right. I am. Part of what makes me an obsessive knitter is that it's something easy to control. I can see the beginning and the end of a project and see the progress being made. Something that I can't find in house work, or work work or keeping track of my finances.

OTN: A pair of socks for my oldest DS out of Lorna's Laces Shepherd Sock Flames colorway.

A bag thing in garter stitch dominos from a thrift store sweater that I hand-dyed and frogged.

A bag thing in garter stitch dominos from some hand-spun, hand-dyed wool of unknown origin.

A pair of socks for me in hand-dyed, hand-spun Wensleydale. These are some from spindle straight to needle ala Twisted Sisters.

And those UFOs that are hiding in the basement.

OTWheel: Navajo plying some wool of unknown origin for hand dying and selling. (Probably at the next Spinners' Flock Fleece Fair)

Until next time....Thanks for reading.
Rebecca


Yes, that is me. Yes, that is a live snake. No, I am not a snake wrangler. I am a Children's Librarian and fiber junkie. Just as crazy.

More Blogs for Reading

hosted by DiaryLand.com